Home Up

Kent County Sportshall Athletics 2016/17

Last amended at 25-04-17


  • 9 October 2016 - St Johns, Tunbridge Wells. Results 13-10-16

  • 20 November 2016 - Folkestone Leisure Centre, Folkestone Results 21-11-16

  • 11 December 2016 - Kent Sportshall Championships The Stour Centre, Ashford Results 13-12-16

  • 15 January 2017 - U11 Decathlon The Stour Centre, Ashford

  • 29 January 2017 - White Oaks Leisure Centre, Swanley Results 30-01-17

  • 26 February 2017 - The Swallows Leisure Centre, Sittingbourne Results 27-02-17

  • 4 March 2017 - Sportshall Regional Final Burgess Hill 19-04-17

Sportshall Regional Final Burgess Hill 4th March 2017

38 young athletes from Kent competed on Saturday 4th March in the South East Regional Final at Burgess Hill. Competing against five other counties, the athletes did well against very strong opposition from Berkshire and Hampshire who won all but one age group last year.

In the U13 boys, Michael Uzozie (Medway & Maidstone) excelled in the 6-lap time trial winning in (1m 21.8s) 2 seconds ahead of Berkshire and Hampshire who tied for 2nd place. Michael also won a Bronze medal in the Standing Long Jump 2.44m a PB. Nathanial Ryan (Folkestone AC) claimed a Bronze Medal in the Speed bounce with 83 bounces. Oliver Gregory ( Ashford AC) just missed out on a medal in his 2 lap race after qualifying for the final from his heat he ran ( 24.4s) then (24.5s) to finish 4th . Oliver also missed out in his Standing Triple Jump, his jump of 7.13m made him 3rd equal, but he lost on count back. Harvey Fordham (Paddock Wood AC) who was suffering from a temperature from the previous night came 8th with 6 67m in the same competition. Luke Francis (Swale Combined) was 8th in his Vertical Jump 55cm. Jamie Pierce (Medway & Maidstone) one bounce less then Nathaniel same 8th. Chase Arnold (Ashford AC), Kieran Isaac (Medway & Maidstone), Bill Norman (Folkestone AC) and Joshua Clarke (Swale Combined) made up the rest of the team, which came 6th.

In the U13 Girls, the two Kent athletes dominated the 4-lap race. Emily Frimpong (Bexley AC) ran the fastest time in the heats (53.2s) with Saris Teale (Ashford AC) running ((54.6s) to also qualify for the final. Emily won gold in the final (52.6s) Saris was equal 2nd (53.3s). Emily had another win in the Vertical Jump with 64cm. Saris came 3rd in the Standing Triple Jump 6.78m, then joined Freya Jury ( Swale Combined) in the 8 lap Paarlauf to win a Bronze medal. Freya won the Speed Bounce with 93 bounces, Freya claimed another medal in the 2 Lap race finishing 3rd in the finals (25.3s) Zoe Francis (Swale Combined) came equal 2nd in the Speed bounce with 83 bounces. Imogen Davis (Invicta EK) putt a PB in the Shot 8.37m. Lydia Owen ( Ashford AC), Catrina MacArthur ( Folkestone AC),Libby Turbutt (Folkestone AC), Olivia Humphries ( Medway & Maidstone), Jessie Sargeant (Bexley AC) Kiera Sutherland and Charlotte Whiffen both ( Paddock Wood AC) made up the rest of the team. The team finished 6th.

In the U15 boys there were some last minute changes as one athlete dropped out due to injury. Max Eldridge (Maidstone & Maidstone) stepped up to take his place and Ben Blake (Medway & Maidstone) came in as the 7th athlete to do the 4x2 relay. Connor Neal (Thanet AC) who has competed in the last 3 regional Finals, did the best of the team. In the overall all-rounder result, Connor came 5th out of 43 athletes. Wining a Bronze medal in the Standing Triple Jump 7.80m, 4th in the 4-lap race and 7th in the Speed Bounce with 85 bounces. Both Max Eldridge and James English (Swale Combined) also did the Speed-Bounce both with good scores, Max 81 and James 80. The rest of team were Steven Abbott, James Rothery both (Medway & Maidstone) and James Calvert (Bexley AC).

In the U15 girls. Katie Lacey (Folkestone AC) was the only medal winner taking Gold in the Speed Bounce with 87 bounces; Elena Jury (Swale Combined) came 4th with 83 bounces. Bethany Neal (Medway & Maidstone AC) was 6th in the vertical Jump with 58cm.Lauren Macey (Invicta EK) was 7th in the 4 Lap race. Samantha Hockey (Paddock Wood AC) stepped in at the last minute to take the place of an athlete with an injured back, as did Catlin Gallagher (Folkestone AC) who joined the team just a week before, to do the relay. Lilly Ebsworth (Paddock Wood AC) completed the team. They came 6th overall just 2 points behind Buckinghamshire.

A big thank you to all the Kent officials who helped out on the day and to all parents who got all the athletes there on time after the M20 was closed due to an accident. 8 clubs were represented in the Kent team.

Full results can be found on the Sportshall.org website.

Emily Frimpong and Freya Jury have been invited to the National Sportshall Final in Manchester. Emily for the best Vertical jump in the UK this year and Freya for the best Speed bounce. Emily cannot go, but Freya is. Good luck to Freya.

Janet & Elizabeth Duffin Team Managers.

Freya Jury competed for Kent in the National Sportshall Final in Manchester on Sunday the 23rd April 2017. Freya won her speed bounce with a score of 93, so is now a National Sportshall Champion . Well done Freya


Site designed and maintained by robin-web.co.uk