Home Up

Kent County Sportshall Athletics 2021/22

Last amended at 11-04-22

  • 7 November 2021 - the Stour Centre, Ashford. (League) Results 8-11-21

  • 12 December 2021 - the Stour Centre, Ashford (County Champs) Results 14-12-21

  • 16 January 2022 - U11 Decathlon, the Stour Centre, Ashford Results 22-01-22

  • 6 February 2022 - the Stour Centre, Ashford (League) Results 7-02-22

  • 19 February 2022 - Regional Final at Burgess Hill - U11 Results - U13/15 Results 20-02-22

Sportshall UK Final Essex Sports Arena Colchester 10 April 2022

Joe Stone representing Kent won the U15 all-rounder competition on Sunday at the UK final. A fantastic achievement. The first time an athlete from Kent has won the all-rounder competition

Competing in the 2 lap race Joe finished equal 1st 21.8s. He came 2nd in the Standing triple jump 8.45m and second in the shot 12.42m. He scored 145 points.3 points separated the top 3 athletes with the 2nd placed athlete from Buckinghamshire finishing with 143 and the 3rd athlete also from Buckinghamshire 142. 

Janet Duffin


After two years with no regional competition due to Covid, athletes were finally able to compete again for their county in Sportshall athletics. 37 athletes from across Kent travelled to Burgess Hill on Saturday 19th February. With the U11 teams competing in the morning, the U/13 and U/15 teams competed in the afternoon. Originally the U11s and older athletes competed on different days, but with Sportshall being unable to find a sponsor for the last few years, all age groups now compete on the same day to save costs.

In the U15 boys Joe Stone (Tonbridge AC) came equal first in the boy’s all-rounder competition, which qualifies him for the UK final. Joe came 2nd in the shot 12.98m, 3rd in the standing triple jump 8.32m and 3rd in the 4 lap race 59.9s. He ran the 8 lap paarlauf with Cameron Isaac (Medway & Maidstone AC) the pair came 3rd. Cheyne West (Medway & Maidstone AC) won the standing triple jump 8.66m, was 6th in the shot 10.08m and 6th in the 4lap 63.0s, Cheyne came 4th in the all- rounder event. Cheyne joined Jake Foster (Medway & Maidstone AC), Daniel Shoyoye (Medway & Maidstone AC) and Aaron Brown (Paddock Wood AC) in the 4x2 lap relay where the team came 4th. Aaron also did the non–scoring standing Long Jump 2.50m. Jake did 70 speed bounces, ran the 4 lap 63.2s and jumped 6.86m in the standing triple jump. Cameron Isaac came 2nd in the speed bounce with 79, jumped 2.05m in the standing long jump and ran the 2 lap 28.6s. Daniel Shoyoye jumped 2.29m in the standing long jump, putt the shot 8.23m and ran the 2 lap 31.7s. Edward Little (Maidstone & Maidstone AC) completed the team, he ran 29.8s in the 2 lap, Jumped 72 in the speed bounce and jumped 1.94m in the standing long jump.

The U15 girls team won bronze medals, with Isabella Amarty (Dartford Harriers) coming equal 3rd in the all-rounder competition. Ella Thomas (Tonbridge AC) was 10th and Harriet Court (Paddock Wood AC) and Grace Akindeji (Medway & Maidstone AC) equal 13th. Isabella was 2nd in the standing long jump, 4th in the 2 lap race 30.6s, and putt the shot 7.90m. Ella won the speed bounce with 84 bounces, jumped 2.15m in the standing long jump and ran 69.6s in the 4 lap race. Grace came 3rd in her 2 lap race 30.5s, jumped 61cm in the vertical jump and did 69 bounces in the speed bounce. Harriet came 6th in the shot 9.31m, jumped 2.29m in the standing long jump and ran 31.9s in the 2 lap. Isabella May Wilson (Invicta East Kent) covered the shot, vertical jump and 4 lap race. Hannah St Clare (Folkestone RC) did speed bounce, vertical jump and 4 lap. One athlete did not arrive so Harriet stepped in and did the 8 lap paarlauf relay with Ella.

The U13 girls finished 4th in their match. One of the highlights of the day was in the U13 girls 4 lap race Layla Forest (Invicta East Kent AC) who stepped in at the last minute due to another athlete being injured. She ran the 4 lap heat and qualified for the final, which she won by 2 hundredths of a second, she came 7th in her shot. Dakota Wilson (Ashford AC) came 2nd in the speed bounce with 84 bounces and ran the 4x1 lap and the obstacle relays. Lilly Rockall (Folkestone RC) claimed second place in the standing Long jump 2.23m. Ismae Abomeli (Thanet AC) finished 2nd in the standing triple jump 6.68m. There were 3rd places for Mia Pearson (Ashford AC) in the vertical jump with 55cm and Elsa Pawson (Tonbridge AC) in the standing long jump 2.17m. The Obstacle race was run twice due to an athlete slipping in the first run in which Kent were 3rd, unfortunately in the rerun Kent ended up 5th. Lily Tempest (Tonbridge AC) ran both the races and then had to go straight to her 2 lap race, which affected her performance. Following a Kent team complaint, things will be done differently in the future. Océane Argiver (Swale Combined) Abigail Smith (Folkestone RC) Georgia Sweeting (Tonbridge AC) Freya Morton (Ashford AC) Emily Wilcox (Tonbridge AC) made up the rest of the team.

The U13 boys also finished 4th in their match Victor Redman (Folkestone RC) won the shot 10.52m and came 4th in his 2 lap race 29.0s.Will Bryant (Invicta East Kent AC) ran the 4 lap race to finish 2nd 63.1s and came 3rd in the shot 8.75m. James Wilcox (Ashford AC) was 4th in the speed bounce with 78 bounces and Isaac Wood (Ashford AC) came 4th in the standing Triple jump 6.52m. William Hirst (Paddock Wood AC), Alfie Walsh (Swale Combined), Jamie Adams (Invicta East Kent AC) and Will Bryant came 2nd in the obstacle relay. Thomas Webb and Nicolas Pedrazas (both Folkestone RC) ran the 6 lap time trial and the 8 lap paarlauf. Bukunmi Edun (Medway & Maidstone AC) did the 2 lap, vertical jump and 4 x2 lap relay, Eliy Mathews (Folkestone RC) was 6th in the standing triple jump 6.44m and Will Horner (Tonbridge AC) did the standing long jump.

We would like to thank all parents and officials who came on the day, especially with the torrential rain some encountered on their way to Burges Hill, making travell extremely difficult. It was good to see that all teams finished in the top 4. Looking back at the records possibly a first for Kent.

Janet Duffin & Elizabeth Bignell team managers.

Site designed and maintained by robin-web.co.uk